Author Topic: Re:  (Read 545 times)

Offline Gemini730

  • Poaster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re:
« on: Oct 23, 2001, 01:48 PM »
I forgot to mention I have Windows 98 installed

               Gemini730

               (Lorraine)



 

Offline John

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
Re:
« Reply #1 on: Oct 23, 2001, 02:25 PM »
Lorraine, welcome to Poasters Forum. First off tell us all about your system. Make,model,cpu speed,memory RAM how much, video card and or video resolution. Too much information is not enough. Secondonly take a look at your system resources. Go to Start, settings, control panel, System, then open the Performance tab. Tell us what the system resources says ie.% free. Also try closing all non essentional programs to raise system resources. Go to Start, run, and type into the empty space MSCONFIG then OK. Then go to the Startup tab. Uncheck everything except Systray and explorer. After that go to the desktop and put the mouse arrow on an empty area of the screen and right click one time. Then choose Properties, then Settings. Make sure that your screen area is set to 800X600 and your color settings is 256 or High Color (16 bit) Also close any firewall or antivirus program you have running and do not try to view DVD while connected to the internet. Also Idealpcsystems If you need more help poast back on this same thread. Good luck,





John
Cogito Ergo Sum

Offline query

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6678
Re:
« Reply #2 on: Oct 23, 2001, 03:21 PM »
What do your system resources look like just before you try to play a DVD (open Explorer, Help, About Windows)?  If you are low on system resources, you may see this error, since the mPact software isn't known for its efficiency.



Have you upgraded video drivers or other components recently?  Since mPact no longer exists (rather, Chromatic Research, its maker, is gone), there are no new mPact releases - and new video cards (or operating systems - mPact won't work with anything newer than 98) can cause problems.



Failing all else, unless this is an Anigma 0AAKW mainboard, you can scrap the mPact card and use software DVD decoding, or upgrade the video card to something like a Radeon, which has good hardware assisted DVD decoding.  If it is the integrated board (mPact DVD-video) there's not much hope for upgrading - a new system board would be in order.







 

Offline Gemini730

  • Poaster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re:
« Reply #3 on: Oct 24, 2001, 12:45 PM »
Thank You for your welcome.My Quantex is model

VL700.I have 64 RAM.My memory is 64% available.

   I have the following message in systems manage

performance:Compatibility-mode paging reduces

over-all performance.Drive C and E using MS-DOS

Compatibility mode system file.

details:windows was unable to identify a real-mode

driver or memory-resident program causing the prob-

lem.

 I suspect this is the reason why my DVD- player will

not play. Can you please help ?



 

Offline John

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
Re:
« Reply #4 on: Oct 24, 2001, 01:09 PM »
Lorraine, Go to Start, Settings, Control panel, and double click the System Icon. This will open System Properties. Select and click the Device Manager tab. See if there are any yellow or red exclamation ! marks. If so let us know which ones have which mark. If no marks try this. Locate the + sign next to the Hard Disk Controllers and click it once. Highlight each entry such as the Primary, Secondary and Bus Master controller. Then go down to the bottom of the Properties menu and select remove. After all entries have been removed then click refresh. If the Hard disk controllers do not refresh it will be necessary to restart the computer. If this does not solve the problem try the fix again but this time in Safe Mode. If that dosen't work try the fix in this Microsoft Knowledge Base  Article.





John
Cogito Ergo Sum

Offline Gemini730

  • Poaster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re:
« Reply #5 on: Oct 24, 2001, 03:11 PM »
John,I have only one entry-Bus Master Controller.

When I clicked the remove sign,I received the following

warning:Bus Master Controller is about to be removed from

computer.If the hard drives do not refresh will I be able

to reinstall the Bus Master Controller ?I want to be sure

before I click the refresh button.Please excuse my ignorance.

Thank You so much for your help and patience.

                    God Bless,

                       Lorraine



 

Offline John

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
Re:
« Reply #6 on: Oct 24, 2001, 06:30 PM »
Lorraine, That should pose no problem just make sure you restart your computer and it will reinstall. You may face the possibilaty of reformatting your hard drive down the road but for now let's try this. However I believe the Solution in the Knowledge Base article should do the trick. Make sure that whenever you decide to make any changes to your registry you always back it up first. Also there is no need to be concerned about lack of knowledge about computers. We are learning all the time and no one person has all the answers all the time. For me it's the process of learning that is most exciting. So that said if you need more help concerning this incident poast back on this same thread. Good luck,





John
Cogito Ergo Sum

Offline Gemini730

  • Poaster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re:
« Reply #7 on: Oct 25, 2001, 05:05 AM »
John,When I click the remove button my system

freezes up and I have to reboot.I tried several

times and the same thing happens.Your help and

kindness is greatly appreciated.

              Gemini730

              (Lorraine)



 

Offline Gemini730

  • Poaster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re:
« Reply #8 on: Oct 25, 2001, 08:05 AM »
I was able to click remove and refresh.I re-booted

my computer but I`m still getting the Drives C and E

using Ms-DS compatibility mode message.

               Gemini 730

                  (Lorraine)



 

Offline John

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
Re:
« Reply #9 on: Oct 25, 2001, 12:35 PM »
Lorraine, if you feel confident about using the Microsoft Knowledge Base solution I poasted give it a try. Remember to back up your Registry up first. Secondly it's always a good idea to save any data that you feel is not replaceable. If all else fails you might want to consider taking the computer to a local repair facility to let them sort it out for you. If not we'll hang in here as long as you want.





John
Cogito Ergo Sum

Offline Gemini730

  • Poaster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re:
« Reply #10 on: Oct 25, 2001, 01:02 PM »
John,Thank You for your help.I don`t feel confident

enough about  to access the microsoft help suggestions

that you posted.My hard drives C and E must be very

messed up.I just finished trying to install the software

for a HP CD RW Burner.Install shield Wizard is not functioning right.

When I got to the components to Install-the components did not show

up onscreen.I have never had any problems before installing programs-so

I suspect it is something to do with drives C and E using the MS-Dos

Compatibility mode.Do you think that is what is causing the problem

with installing ?

                    Gemini730

                       (Lorraine)



 

Offline John

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
Re:
« Reply #11 on: Oct 25, 2001, 02:20 PM »
Lorraine, Yes, most likely. However it seems to me that if everything was working correctly before you installed the Mpact driver upgrade then that might be the culprit. Before anything else happens we need to know something. Are you using a Gateway computer with a Quantex monitor. Also is that why you went to Gateway for the Mpact upgrade.





John
Cogito Ergo Sum

Offline Gemini730

  • Poaster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re:
« Reply #12 on: Oct 25, 2001, 05:28 PM »
I have a Quantex computer.I installed the Gateway Driver

on  the advice of a service technician who I reached from

the 1-800 customer service listed on one of my DVD`s.He told me that

Chromatic Impact was no longer in business but to download the Gateway

upgrade driver and that it would work in all MPact players, no matter

what brand name.

 John,I noticed in Systems Information that (FAT 32) is listed next to the

 amount of hard drive space(4935MB of 8188 MB).Could the FAT 32 be causing

the problem ?Windows help says that FAT 32 cannot be returned to normal

mode without reinstalling my hard drive.I don`t remember changing the

settings to FAT 32, but perhaps I did it accidently.

   Thanks For Sticking With Me ! Your kindness is greatly appreciated.

                           Gemini730

                           (Lorraine)



 

Offline John

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
Re:
« Reply #13 on: Oct 25, 2001, 07:59 PM »
Lorraine, no. Fat 32 had nothing to do with your computers current problem. There are several reason this problem occurs. One could be a boot sector virus. A missing or damaged hard drive controller, missing driver files and several other reasons. Suffice it to say that the FAT or File Alocation Table had nothing to do with it. Do you have Anti Virus software running and is it up to date. If it is not running I suggest you do a complete scan of your hard drive first and formost. After that you said you are not comfortable trying any of the fixes in the Microsoft knowledge base article. That leaves only a few options. Take it to a repair facility, or attempt a fdisk, and reinstall of the operating system. If you have never installed an operating system before it can be a learning experience or a nightmare.  My advice is to do a side by side re-install of the operating system with a qualified person who is capable of doing so.  For more information on FAT refer to this pcguide





John
Cogito Ergo Sum

Offline Gemini730

  • Poaster
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Problems With DVD ROM Player
« Reply #14 on: Oct 23, 2001, 01:27 PM »
When I attempt to play a DVD on the MPact 2 DVD ROM

player on my computer,I get the following error

message:Not enough MPact memory  to continue.I

have downloaded and installed the 4105 patch available

on the Gateway website which is supposed to fix the problem

but it hasn`t worked.Can you please help ?

               Gemini730

P.S.I have tried rebooting but that still doesn`t help.My

DVD player was working fine until yesterday, when I began

to get the error message.