Author Topic: a64!!!!! (well sort of..)  (Read 1721 times)

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« on: Dec 06, 2005, 06:25 AM »
im going to build a socket 754 system. (yes i know so939 is better but 754 is fine for me) its going to be this mobo=

http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=3T8K&Quicklinx=3T8K#UsedStock

and this processor=


http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=3T8K&Quicklinx=3T8K#UsedStock

i will upgrade to a a64 processor later (and looking at the way athlon xp's have gone lately i may hang on to the sempron for a few years and sell it for a fantastic profit!!!!!)

so what i want to know is what do you think. the rest of the system will be my sig sys. i have given dad my xp3200+ processor in exchange for his 3000+ which currently fetch more on ebay!! and will sell my current mobo and processor to finance it. (taking all the custom coolers off first of course!!!)
this sys should fly!

edit=
ok so i have changed my mind already. im going for a so939 system whith either a 3000+ or a 3200+ a64 processor
i will then upgrade to a 4000+ at a later date.

edit=
now its,
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6826531541

and

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6827370992
« Last Edit: Dec 06, 2005, 09:45 AM by freelance »
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)

Offline Carskick

  • Master Poaster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2485
  • Shelby, one of my cats.
    • James Kirk's Photos
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2005, 09:47 AM »
Good choice. If you were looking at the 3400+ sempron, you may as well get a 3000+ A64 on a 939, as the price difference is nil.
Athlon64 X2 3800+ Machester@2.45Ghz, 4x1GB A-DATA PC3200@204(2.5-3-3-6), XFX 8800GT, ASUS A8N5X NF4, Antec 300 case, Antec EarthWatts 650w, 640GB 16MB and 200GB 8MB 7200RPM SATA WD HDDs, NEC3540, NEC3550, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate<br />Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/Carskick

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #2 on: Dec 07, 2005, 03:08 AM »
that was my reasoning.
especially as it works out cheaper than buying a athlon xp 3000+ processor!
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #3 on: Dec 08, 2005, 01:26 PM »
my new cpu (purchased this afternoon)

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6829378040&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1

and my mobo (5 mins later!)

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6829005594&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1

basically what i want to know is the pitifalls of this setup. i wouldnt mind knowing the good bits either!!! any problems you've had installing 939 systems and how you overcame them would be nice too!!!! ;D   as you may have guessed im a bit nurvous about throwing away ?142!

thanks guys

freelance
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)

Offline Carskick

  • Master Poaster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2485
  • Shelby, one of my cats.
    • James Kirk's Photos
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #4 on: Dec 09, 2005, 01:10 PM »
I helped my friend build a computer with a venice 3000+ and that same motherboard, and it works very well. One issue was the fact that the motherboard automatically over-volted the CPU to 1.6, so lowering was required. And although he hasn't tried, I've heard those aren't very good at overclocking if you are planning on doing that. Otherwise, you should be happy with it. Also, just FYI, you bought an OEM Athlon 64, so you still need a heat sink and fan for it. I personally like the ones that came with the CPU, so I got that for the warranty and simlicity, but you can easily buy a decent setup there.
Athlon64 X2 3800+ Machester@2.45Ghz, 4x1GB A-DATA PC3200@204(2.5-3-3-6), XFX 8800GT, ASUS A8N5X NF4, Antec 300 case, Antec EarthWatts 650w, 640GB 16MB and 200GB 8MB 7200RPM SATA WD HDDs, NEC3540, NEC3550, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate<br />Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/Carskick

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #5 on: Dec 09, 2005, 01:12 PM »
i got given a a64 cooler that had sometime in its life lost its fan, by my local computer store CH Solutions. i added a fan and polished the copper bottem and vola!!!! a artic cooler cooler!!!!
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)

Offline Whizbang

  • xTreme Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4576
  • "Canna" help you?
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #6 on: Dec 09, 2005, 06:56 PM »
i got given a a64 cooler that had sometime in its life lost its fan, by my local computer store CH Solutions. i added a fan and polished the copper bottem and vola!!!! a artic cooler cooler!!!!
Hmm, I guess you could say that you now have a cooler Arctic cooler that is really cool?  Maybe not, only on Sonic commercials and the Comedy Channel.   :P

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #7 on: Dec 14, 2005, 12:00 PM »
got the parts 2day and its up and running (boy do i have too much time on my hands) my only annoyance is that the 5-6 usb header doesnt work :'(. but it doesnt really bother me.. see my sig!!!
« Last Edit: Dec 14, 2005, 12:00 PM by freelance »
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)

Offline Bill

  • Global Moderator
  • xTreme Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #8 on: Dec 14, 2005, 12:44 PM »
Congratulations.  Sounds like a nice system.  Good luck with it.

Bill
Antec 3700 | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R | Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz | 4 GB (4x1GB) DDR2 PC 5300 Kingston RAM | Antec NeoPower 550W | eVGA GeForce 9500GT 1GB 128 bit PCI Express 2.0 | Intel SSD X25-M 80GB | VelociRaptor 150GB | WD 80GB 7200rpm |Samsung 22x SATA Burner |Windows 7 32-bit

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #9 on: Dec 15, 2005, 10:33 AM »
hey scuzzy whats your experiences with the a8v dulux, 64 3200 and corsair value ram combo????
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #10 on: Jan 22, 2006, 12:43 PM »
iv just fitted a western digital sata hard drive, 7200rpm and 300mb/s transfer rate. the problem came when installing xp. there are 3 floppy creator utilities on the mobo cdrom, 2 for the promise controller and 1 for the normal sata connections. ( for the f6 option in xp install) on each of thse utilitys there is the driver for win 2000, xp, nt4 and me. the normal sata drivers wouldnt work (caused a problem with xp and crashed the install), so i swiched to the promise controller. i then tried the xp driver with the same error, the same resault was given by the 2000 then the me driver. but suprise of suprise, the nt4 driver did it!!!! i mean kudos to backwards compatibility, i dont even think xp is based on nt arcitecture? i thought it went down the same line as 2000????
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)

Offline Whizbang

  • xTreme Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4576
  • "Canna" help you?
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #11 on: Jan 22, 2006, 12:53 PM »
Xp and 2000 are based on NT, but I am no less surprised that you needed to revert to NT4 to install.  2000 is technically NT5.  The older 2000 setups even refer to the WINNT folder instead of Win2000 folder.  I may be on a limb here, but I also believe that XP is a hybrid of 2000's NT5.  Someone may smack me down, but I believe that is right.

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Re:a64!!!!! (well sort of..)
« Reply #12 on: Jan 22, 2006, 12:55 PM »
i always got that mixed up.

freelance,
dang do you live in here? i only poasted 2 minuites ago!
« Last Edit: Jan 22, 2006, 12:56 PM by freelance »
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)