Author Topic: Athlon 64 vs. Athlon XP  (Read 574 times)

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Athlon 64 vs. Athlon XP
« on: Jun 30, 2005, 11:39 AM »
Okay, I' finally getting started on putting this system together. I have 4 months to build it, and I will piece it together as I'm able. To start, I will be picking up a case in the near future.

The motherboard, CPU, and RAM will likely be the last items I pick up. However, I'm leaning toward the EPOX EP-9NDA+ mobo (thanks, Chandler), AMD Athlon 64 3500. For the RAM, I'll look at Carskick's advice for 1GB of Corsair.

I'm undecided on HDD and Video. Probably Seagate or WD for the drive, but it will be SATA only to reduce cable clutter. The video card will likely be ATI based, but I will consider Carskick's advice for nVIDIA.

The DVD burner will be Plextor's SATA drive (PX-716SA), again to reduce cable clutter. Software will be the retail version of Nero 6.

For PSU, I'll likely get the Antec True430.

I'll keep you folks updated. Meanwhile, thanks for the great ideas.

ok. quick question...
why go 64 over xp????????/
« Last Edit: Jul 01, 2005, 10:14 AM by scuzzy »
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)

Offline Carskick

  • Master Poaster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2485
  • Shelby, one of my cats.
    • James Kirk's Photos
Re:Need advice for a new build
« Reply #1 on: Jun 30, 2005, 12:35 PM »

ok. quick question...
why go 64 over xp????????/

You mean Athlon 64 over Athlon XP?

The Athlon64 is a redesigned core that handles most tasks much more efficiently, meaning it acomplishes more at the same clock speed. It also has new extentions that were not included into the XP. It is also 64 bit ready. Performance-wise, it's just better.
Athlon64 X2 3800+ Machester@2.45Ghz, 4x1GB A-DATA PC3200@204(2.5-3-3-6), XFX 8800GT, ASUS A8N5X NF4, Antec 300 case, Antec EarthWatts 650w, 640GB 16MB and 200GB 8MB 7200RPM SATA WD HDDs, NEC3540, NEC3550, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate<br />Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/Carskick

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Re:New build, parts are here
« Reply #2 on: Jun 30, 2005, 01:09 PM »
you see thats what i thought, but dont you need a 64bit enable copy of winxp 64 beta???  and besides i cant justify the extra costs involved.
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)

Offline Bill

  • Global Moderator
  • xTreme Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
Re:New build, parts are here
« Reply #3 on: Jun 30, 2005, 01:33 PM »
No, the A 64 has 32 bit capability and runs XP just fine.   It is forward looking in that it will also run Windows 64 while doing an excellent job with 32 bit apps.

The A 64 system components are almost the same price as the older Athlon MBs and processors.  

Bill
Antec 3700 | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R | Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz | 4 GB (4x1GB) DDR2 PC 5300 Kingston RAM | Antec NeoPower 550W | eVGA GeForce 9500GT 1GB 128 bit PCI Express 2.0 | Intel SSD X25-M 80GB | VelociRaptor 150GB | WD 80GB 7200rpm |Samsung 22x SATA Burner |Windows 7 32-bit

Offline freelance

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 445
Re:New build, parts are here
« Reply #4 on: Jul 01, 2005, 04:19 AM »
1 word.... OOOPS!!! :'(
ok so the following is my pc:
asus M2N4-SLI, athlon X2 5000+ cpu, geforce 7600GT , 80gb MAXTOR SATAII hdd, 4gb ddr2 ram, silverstone edumon (google it and u'll find it!!!) sata dvd rw dual layer, 6x usb 2, and tv card (with video recorder ps2 etc)