• Welcome to Poasters Computer Forums.

News:

Welcome to the ARCHIVED Poasters Computer Forums (Read Only)

Main Menu

Adding a wireless Access Point to my Network Switch - Recommendations?

Started by Mark H, August 12, 2007, 12:39 hrs

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark H

I have an ipcop linux machine running which is the firewall for my entire house. It feeds a Linksys 8 port ethernet switch that feeds my printer and two desktop PCs. I want to add a wireless access point to one of the 8 ports for a future laptop and my Sony PS3. The access point my be able to tranmit through walls in order to get to my farthest downstairs room from it. I think a 200 to 300 ft distance is adequate.

What is recommended? How do I keep those people outside of the house from accessing it? Any recommendations on an access point? I prefer a a linksys to match my router, but am not married to the idea. What standards should I look for in the access point?

This is my first time delving into wireless, so I am asking those who have been there before.

Thanks,

Mark H
Enjoy the nature that is around you rather than destroying it.

Buffalo2102

200 to 300 ft is quite a long way for curretn standards when also going through walls etc.  Whizbang should be able to tell you some things about extending a network that sort of distance.

The wireless N standard may be good for what you need as it supports more reliable connection over long distances but the standard isn't ratified yet and you may want to wait for that first.  Wireless G may be OK but there is no real way to tell until you have actually bought the kit and set it up in the environment.

If you can't wait, I owned a Linksys WAP-54G access point for quite a while and found it to be excellent.  That or a newer version should do the job.